Home Tap to Call Now

Real Customer Reviews – from Yelp, Google, Yahoo, Trip Advisor & Foursquare

City Fish Market , USA 4.8 5.0 337 337

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Outstanding Lobster Roll!

Jul 29, 2012 by 

I visited this restaurant for the first time yesterday noon while visiting a friend in Glastonbury. It was her suggestion. A great suggestion! Living in New England, we have the luxury of sampling lobster rolls at many venues, both small and large. Although this inland version of a seaside food emporium can be very busy, it is well worth the wait. As one waits in line to place an order in this actual seafood store, the large saltwater tubs are readily visible and display lobsters of all sizes available for purchase. Fried clams - whole or strip - are also offered along with many other choices. To complement your order, you may select french fries (enormous!) or chowder (We did - delicious and chock full of fresh clams!) among other "sides." The fresh, hot lobster roll is served either with or without "salad" filler. Either way, this is probably the best lobster roll I have enjoyed in quite a while! The adjoining restaurant area is self-serve but clean and comfortable.


Fresh Fish

Jul 05, 2012 by 

City fish is the place to go for a variety of fresh fish. Also is included are a limited selection of cooked to order fish dinner that you may take out or sit in thier informal dinning area.


THE place to go.

May 08, 2012 by 

They've got a reputation as THE place to find a huge variety of the freshest seafood, and as far as I can tell, it's warranted. All you really need to know about City Fish is that you see their trucks all over the place at the area's best restaurants, supplying them with seafood. I don't mind driving 20+ minutes from West Hartford to go here, rather than stopping down the street at Whole Foods or another closer place. It's often crowded, but even then you don't have to wait long...it moves along.

The to-go counter is great, too, if you're in the mood for some fresh fish and chips.


Get the shrimp & chips.

Oct 24, 2011 by 

For me, this is the place to compare all fried seafood to.The worst thing I can say is the food is so hot when you get it and so delicious that it is almost impossible to wait for it to cool down and resist eating it without burning your mouth.

I almost always get the shrimp and chips.The shrimp, wow are they fresh and cooked perfectly.They are battered right when you order them.For me, the chips are also worth the drive.These are steak fries, and even better, krinkle cut steak fries.They are nice and crisp, and always freshly fried.

Clam chowder, also very good.Hot lobster roll, nothing to complain about here!

You order cafeteria style and there is a dining room to eat in.They offer beer in the dining room.Very clean.

Beware on Fridays during Lent!But, still worth the wait.


Incredible Quality

Oct 23, 2011 by 

I grew up right nearby, so when I was visiting CT I had to stop by: the quality was as good as I remembered it, and they had even added on a dining room so I didn't have to go eat the piping hot, fresh seafood in my car.This is primarily a fish market, and they do most of the business not on the retail side but business to business: at the same time, this volume of trade allows them to keep product moving, so you should feel confident that you are getting some good fish if you are shopping at their retail counter.However, the portion of City that I was enjoying this day was their prepared food (mostly fried seafood with fries).I got the soft shell crab lunchbox, which came with two large soft shell crabs plus fries for $11: pretty much unbeatable in my book, especially when the crabs were perfectly cooked, nice and tender with a very light breading that didn't even come close to overwhelming the seafood.From past memories the whole belly clams are really good too...


Definitely Worth a Visit

Oct 06, 2011 by 

They have the best fish and chips EVER! Stop by if you get a chance, you will not be disappointed.


Glad we moved to Wethersfield

Jul 16, 2011 by 

We LOVE City Fish Market. When my wife and I moved to Wethersfield, we were concerned that we wouldn't be able to find a fish market that we can trust.A few trips to City Fish had us convinced that we were living in the right place. We've been there about once a week ever since then.


Will be returning in the near future!

May 26, 2011 by 

Loved the take-out fried fish, fried clams, and cooked shrimp! The service was efficient and friendly, too. Oh yes, I'm going back soon.


My not-so-local favorite.

Oct 20, 2010 by 

This review goes to Mr.T's favorite food of all time, the Lobster. And yes, I love me some lobster.

This local favorite, The City Fish Market serves the best hot lobster roll!Chunks of lobster meat, not talking about the claws, the juicy meaty lobster tail. A very generous portion served in a hoagie. As you hold bread, chunks of meat are falling out of the roll. An orgasmic experience that makes makes you go MMMMmmmmm with every bite. There is a side to choose from, your choice of fries, cole slaw, or new england clam chowder. The mister and I choose clam chowder. The chowder is creamy delish with lots of with clams and potatoes. This combo is 15.99. They have deep fried seafood on their menu but that's for another time for eating and yelping.

The mister and I ate at their lively dining area. You order and pick up at the food counter. Walk over to the seating area behind the door. You can order beer and watch one of two flat screen tvs.

As mentioned in previous reviews, this is the best seafood market in the greater Hartford area. The quality of seafood is outstanding. I bought steamers, mussels, and medium shrimp. The people who work here are wonderful and friendly.

The only downside is that this places closes early during the week, so check the time depending on the day, it can be 5pm or 7pm and closed on Sundays. I will be here again to get me that lobster roll fix.


A-mazing.

Oct 04, 2009 by 

Holy fish and chips, batman!This place is amazing.$8.99 for a honking yellow box filled with fish and fries.I was a bit skeptical while staring at the menu board, but when I opened the box and saw enough food for 3 adults, I decided the price was more than reasonable.Also ordered the fried clams and chips, same deal here, amazingly fresh, and outsize portion.

The line was pretty long, but the food was served up within 10-12 minutes, despite the fact that they fried everything fresh.Eat in the newly opened dining room.It's got a great vibe to it.Also, don't forget to douse your fish in vinegar just before eating. Heaven!!!


City Fish Market, USA 4.8 5.0 337 337
Page:
«303132
Call Now Button