Home Tap to Call Now

Real Customer Reviews – from Yelp, Google, Yahoo, Trip Advisor & Foursquare

City Fish Market , USA 4.8 5.0 337 337

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Friggin Awesome

Mar 17, 2013 by 

Very simply put...the best. I've been going here for years for a good take out fish fry. This joint cannot be beaten. Try the whole belly clams with fries. Try the chowder. Try the fish sandwich. Oh hell, just go and try it 'cause it's friggin awesome.


Great Fish, Anyone?

Mar 16, 2013 by 

As my partner suffers from TMJ, we had to look for soft textures for him to dine on, and decided on visiting this market after we left The Wethersfield Historical Society. What a trip and sight for eyes! There is a vast selection of fish and crustaceans to delight yourself upon. There are also a variety of seasonings, pastes, and breading options to use on your purchased product(s). Though I did notice a cafe area inside this store, I did not order anything from it.

We ended up buying some flounder. For some reason, the young male attendant only charged our card $6 the first time, even though the end price for the items were $14. Noticing his mistake, he apologized and was to charge the difference, but only charged another $6. At this point, the manager/family owner came to apologize for this employee's error and said he needed to charge the last remaining $2. I am sure some others would be ticked off by three charges for one $14 purchase, but we were ok. I hope the young man was not terribly reprimanded, afterwards. Mistakes do occur, albeit not three consequetive times, but all was well with our experience. Will definitely look into going back to try other selections.


fresh fish

Jan 25, 2013 by 

Love the to-go counter. Fresh fish, good quality, not usually a long wait. Prices are comparable. Sizes are large. I usually get 2 meals.


Fresh Fresh Fresh Fish

Jan 17, 2013 by 

City Fish is the purveyor to most restaurants in the area serving seafood; therefore, what they sell is fresher than what you'll find elsewhere in the Hartford area. The Market Counter has a wide variety of in-season selections & the Fry Station cooks it up made to order.. breaded fresh EVERY time. .. A dining room has been added to the front of the building to take your fried deliciousness & leisurely enjoy with some Malt Vinegar or a beer (or both!). Not big on Frills, but also no better fish in the area...and that why you went, so... enjoy!


Fresh AND Delicious

Jan 17, 2013 by 

If you are in the Hartford area and looking to get your shore-line fried food seafood fix, you don't need to travel all the way down to those wonderful shore-line shacks.City Fish brings that goodness in spades and is in nearby Wethersfield.

The place is not much to look at on Silas Deane Highway as the place resides in more of an industrial looking building and doubles as a fresh seafood distributor to the area.There is a certain royal fast food chain next door that will let you know if you are getting close.When you enter, you will notice a very utilitarian look with a fish counter in one direction and the fried food counter in another.This review is primarily about the restaurant, but I have it on good authority that the fish counter sells extremely fresh seafood if that is your game.Also a great deal on "odds and ends" fish cuttings for fish stew as well at great prices.

So we've already said you're not coming here for the ambiance...you're here to satisfy that fried seafood craving.And City Fish does it in spades.Very simple menu and reasonable pricing...I'm not going to bore you with details, except to say you will not go home disappointed if you are looking for your standard fried clam, fish, scallops, shrimp platter...They serve it up fresh, crispy, well-seasoned and with a huge portion of thick crinkle cut fries...Will also give some kudos to their New England Clam Chowder which is very hearty and well done (My 5 year old who will not eat much, loves this soup).We have friends who live closer to shoreline communities and have commented on how this fare matches favorably with their local joints.So they have that going for them.

There is a seat yourself seating area for those looking to stick around.As I am local to the area, it's always a pickup situation for me.It's somewhat separated from the counters, so I haven't even stuck my head in to get a sense of cleanliness or ambiance.But you're not (or shouldn't be) coming here for a nice sit-down, have a few drinks and nice meal event...You're coming here to get a nice bowl of chowder, some very well prepared scallops and chips, washed down with a Coke (or maybe Pepsi...I forget)


Incredibly fresh chowder

Jan 11, 2013 by 

Best clam chowder I ever tasted!


consistently great seafood

Dec 27, 2012 by 

Their fresh fish is ALWAYS good. I never eat their prepared seafood, so I can't say a word about that, but I'm sure it's just as good as the market fish.


5 Stars Only!

Nov 20, 2012 by 

I would definitely recommend City Fish Market to anyone who likes seafood!

After finding City Fish Market on Yelp, we decided to have lunch there.

You order on one side of the market and eat in the dining room after picking up your food (next to where you order).

I had the fried clam strips and fries special for the day ($7.99).The fried clams were some of the best I've ever eaten.The batter was very light and the clams were fresh, meaty and cooked to perfection!!!

Please see my pictures of the restaurant and fish market.

Xie Xie!!


Fish & Chips is on point.

Sep 27, 2012 by 

I highly recommend the fish and chips!


Best Place for Fresh Fish

Sep 02, 2012 by 

If you want fresh fish this is the place. Go at lunch time so before you get your fish try their lunch items. Had their fried shrimp and chips they were excellent. Portion is enough to split. They also serve beer, nice dining area with flat screen televisions.


City Fish Market, USA 4.8 5.0 337 337
Call Now Button